Thunder, EsselWorld, Mumbai, India

The first time I went to ESSEL WORLD, I was a small kid who was only 3 years old. I was too small to ride anything that I enjoyed. There only were three rides that I could ride -kiddies flume (a ride that has three tiny boats that only kids under 3 feet could fit in and floats on a small track made of water), kinder carousal (a super tiny carousal with less than seven characters) and junior carousel (a bigger version of kinder carousal with more characters). As I grew more than 3 feet, I could start doing more rides, which were more exciting. these two were my top  favorites – yard train (a ride that has no safety gear. It is a slow train that gives riders a look around a small man – made jungle) and highway car (a car with a steering wheel that allows riders to experience how it is like to drive in a jungle). Although I now had many rides I could do, all the fun rides were for kids more than 4 feet 6 inches. 1 year later, I only had one more inch to grow before I could ride all the fun rides. Then, a disaster struck. I stopped growing. That meant I had to play in the garden everyday to grow taller (I always hated going to the garden to play). After two years of stretching my body, I grew 1 inch. After I grew that inch, I celebrated.
The next time I went to ESSEL WORLD, woohooo! I could do all the rides I wanted to…or could I ? NO, I could not. The safety gears of THUNDER and TOP SPIN were too big for me. I had to become fatter* to fit in the gears of those rides. 1 year later, after eating a lot, I came back to ESSEL WORLD, only to find that I was not allowed in neither THUNDER nor TOP SPIN. I tried to convince them to let me try the gear, but they were firm on not letting me go in either of the rides. I tried at night when there were fewer people in the queue. TOP SPIN was still stubborn and did not let me go in, but THUNDER allowed me to try once. I was so excited that I ran and took the only seat that was available and prayed to god that I would survive the ride. Big mistake. The gear was lose and I had to hold on to the railing until the ride was over. Plus, the adults behind me were screaming into my ears, so I  was almost deaf when I exited the ride. Besides all the screaming, I wanted to do the ride again while exiting the park, but it was too late.
On my next visit, I rode this ride 8 times in a row. It is the most exciting ride in Essel World that made me go upside down for a very long time.

About the Ride:

This is the cleanest ride at Essel World…or NOT! The ride is frequently cleaned due to frequent vomiting by riders. This ride looks like two …well just look at the picture.
thunder2
Thunder was one of the oldest of the rides in ESSEL WORLD, yet one of the most exciting ones. This ride had more restrictions than all the rides in ESSEL WORLD … until Top spin was made.

Experience:

This ride spins all the time.
The first time I rode it, I was extremely scared and felt very dizzy.
The second time I rode it, I was scared and felt a little less dizzier than the first time.
The third time I rode it, I was not scared at all and I did not feel dizzy.
I had learned the trick to beat thunder ….. to know where to look.
EXPERT TIP: DO NOT LOOK IN FRONT. JUST LOOK AT THE SIDES OR LOOK DOWN (if you are not afraid of heights).
ALSO, REMEMBER TO PUT ON THE SAFETY GEAR, OR YOU WILL EXPERIENCE THE SAME FATE I DID – TORN MUSCLES FOR 1 HOUR.

Sequence:

The same experience as a pendulum.
You sit on an uncomfortable seat and allow your stomach to be squeezed by the safety gear. Once the pulp is squeezed out of your stomach, another safety gear comes down as a metal rod for holding onto. Then, the ride moves back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back…
Then you find yourself upside-down. Thunder circles four times.
Then it circles backward three times.
Then, you go forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth.
Finally, the ride stops. Some people feel giddy or nauseous by the time the ride stops.

Features:

  • One arm
  • Two pendulums

Makers:

Originally known as Ranger, Dream Tech Amusement made Thunder.
 

Claim to fame:

Most exciting ride of ESSEL WORLD.
 

Rating:

As an Indian rider : ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
As an Indian child : ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ + ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
 

Source:

TradeIndia.com, my own experiences
 
*I was rather thin for my age
Leave a Reply

